Backup Your Database

Top  Previous  Next

How to Restore Your Database

 

Backing up a database means making a copy of it on a diskette, zip drive, CD-RW, thumb drive, or your hard drive.  Backing up your database is extremely important because it protects you from the loss of your data from accidental cause or from the malfunction of your hardware.

 

NOTE: For example, if your hard disk goes bad, the only way you can recover your database is from a copy of it made on a CD or diskette - specifically made by doing a backup.

 

NOTE: If you are using a CD-RW for Backup, the CD must first be formatted using your CD-RW software.

 

Please Keep 2 sets of Backups!

 

It's easy to backup your database and it only takes a couple of minutes.  Just click on File from the Main Menu Bar and then Backup, and specify your disk drive and directory. You may also enter "comments" about your backup.  These comments will be displayed whenever the database is restored.  For example, you might want to enter the comment:

 

"This Backup is for Coach Gordon and contains current athlete information as of January 8, 2004."

 

Then when this backup is later restored, this message will be displayed BEFORE the backup is restored.

 

Your entire database will be copied onto that disk(s).  Then, if you ever need to, just "restore" back to your hard drive or to a hard drive on another computer.

 


Note: When you backup your Database, TM will name the backup file as follows:

         

                 SwTM8Bkupxxxxxxxxxx.ZIP

 

         where xxxxxxxxxx is the Directory Name of the database.                

 

Recommendation: We recommend that you perform this extremely important function each time you make changes to your database or exit from the program.  Two sets of backups should be maintained and alternated - label them Backup A and Backup B.  Also, make a set of backups once a week and store them in a different location from your computer.

 

NOTE: When you backup your Database to a thumb drive or your hard drive, TM will not overlay any previous backup files.  But if you Backup your Database to a diskette (on your A Drive), TM will erase the information on the diskette before backing up your Database and storing on your diskette.

         

backup